Priyadarshni Academy’s National Awards for the year 2000 honours the following eminent personalities who have made significant contributions in their respective fields.

Guests of Honour

  • Mr. Suresh Prabhu
  • (Union Minister of Chemicals & Fertilizers, Govt. of India)
  • Smt. Jayawantiben Mehta
  • (Union Minister of State for Power, Govt. of India)
  • Mr. Ram Jethmalani
  • (MP)
  • Smt. Prabha Rau
  • (MP)

Special Guests

  • Dr. Patangrao Kadam
  • (Minister for Industries and Water Conservation, Govt. of Maharashtra)
  • Mr. Ashok Chavan
  • ( Minister for Revenue and Protocol, Govt. of Maharashtra)
  • Mr. Anil Deshmukh
  • (Minister of State for Education, Youth Welfare, Sports, Information & Public Relations, Govt. of Maharashtra)
  • Mr. Gopinath Munde
  • (MLA)

Guests of Honour

  • Mr. Ramrao Adik
  • (Senior Advocate)
  • Mr. Pramod Navalkar
  • (MLC)
  • Mr. Nana Chudasama
  • (Former Sheriff of Mumbai)


Yogachariya Shri B. K. S. Lyengar, renowned Yoga Exponent. Receiving the Public Service Award for outstanding contribution towards Infrastructure Development from Mr. Suresh Prabhu.

Mr. Nitin Gadkari, Leader of Opposition, Maharashtra Legislative Council, Mumbai. Receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award for the service rendered in the field of Yoga from Mr. Suresh Prabhu.

Dr. Vijay P. Bhatkar, Chairman. ETH Research Lab, Pune. Receiving the National Award for outstanding contribution to Aviation and Travel Sector from Mr. Suresh Prabhu.

Mr. Naresh Goyal, Chairman, Jet Airways, Mumbai. Receiving the National Award for outstanding contribution for the Advancement of Information Technology from Smt. Jayawantiben Mehta.

Mr. Aishwarya Rai, renowned Film Actress. Receiving the Smita Patil Memorial Award for Best Actress from Mr. Suresh Prabhu.